Operational areas

Uganda Meat Producers Cooperative Union Ltd. (UMPCU) currently has 34 Member Primary Cooperative Societies. These are located within the three Disease Control Zones (DCZs) of the Ministry of Agriculture Animal Industries and Fisheries (MAAIF).

UMPCU membership covers a total of 17 districts.

UMPCU has established three administrative units known as Livestock Resource Centres (LRC): one in DCZ 1 in Nakaseke, two in DCZ 2 in Mbarara and Masaka respectively. These LRCs decentralize service provision to the members. The Union has a central coordination office (secretariat) in Kampala. Plans are underway to acquire permanent office premises in Kampala or its suburbs.